Valais Alps

Switzerland

Basel - Montreux - Brig/Nauters

Alternatively, we wanted to spend New Year’s Eve in the Alps. There was a risk of cloudy weather, but we should be lucky. Beautiful peaks and views for 4 days. Via Nuremberg, Karlsruhe and along the Black Forest we reached Basel in the early evening. A short walk in still cloudy weather through the beautifully lit city center to the Rhine ended the first day.

The next morning we took a guided tour through Basel. First we went to the cathedral with the beautiful cloisters, where Erasmus of Rotterdam is buried. From the Münsterterterraces you have a wide view over the city and the Rhine. The town hall with its red facade, a beautifully designed courtyard and the tower is an eye-catcher. On the battlements of the front house are the coats of arms of the 12 cantons. In addition, there were many beautiful things to discover, such as the Tinguely fountain with mechanical gimmicks. Economically, the pharmaceutical industry with enormous high-rise buildings determines the well-being of the people here.

Basel is considered the cultural capital of Switzerland, with tens of museums and a large art collection, and has the oldest university in the country, founded in 1460. The big names who taught there read like Who is Who of science: Erasmus of Rotterdam, Paracelsus, Bernoulli, Euler, Nietzsche, Jaspers etc. Around noon we headed towards Lake Geneva, passing Bern and Fribourg. A walk in the spa town of Montreux already had a Mediterranean flair. The promenade on the shores of Lake Geneva was wonderful: Freddie Mercury, who recorded his last tracks here and lots of imaginative garden art 🙂. Elegant hotel, residential buildings and the casino are located here. The latter, by the way, is said to have inspired after a fire Deep Purple's hit Smoke on the Water.

Zermatt - Glacierexpress

Afterwards the way led us past Martigny into the Rhône valley. The French and Valais Alps greeted us with the Alpine Glow in the evening glow and we ended the day in Brig/Naters. Zermatt on the Matterhorn is car-free, so the next day the bus took us through the Mattertal to Täsch and from there the train went to Zermatt. The 4,478m high Mountain of Mountains can already be seen from the village, but better from the Gornergrat. So we took the rack railway 1500 m up to the 3.089m high plateau. We spent some hours there in wonderful weather with a gigantic panorama on more than 20 four-thousanders, among them of course the Matterhorn.

The Dufourspitze, at 4634 m above sea level, is the highest mountain in Switzerland. Passing the mountain hotel with the domes of the observatories, we walk up to the platform at 3130 m above sea level. The view of the majestic mountain, beautiful light reflections and shadow games on the white ridges made us a wonderful day in the mountains. Back in the valley, we walked through Zermatt. Electric carts drive through the streets and many tourists strolled up Bahnhofstrasse. We also, past Nobel hotels and the marmot fountain. Unfortunately, there was no time for the Matterhorn Museum, besides many interesting facts about the mountain and mountain guides, there is also the cracked rope of the much-discussed first ascent of the Matterhorn in 1865.

On New Year’s Eve we indulged in a 5-course menu in the Glacier Express, but the disadvantage was that during the ride in the dark we didn’t see anything of the brilliant scenery that the train was passing through. Compensation for this is that we spent the turn of the year at the fireworks in Zermatt.

Info
By using our website, you agree to our cookie policy.

Walliser Alpen

Schweiz

Basel - Montreux - Brig/Nauters

Alternativ wollten wir mal Silvester in den Alpen verbringen. Das Risiko trüben Wetters bestand, aber wir sollten Glück haben. Traumhafte Gipfel und Aussichten 4 Tage lang. Über Nürnberg, Karlsruhe und entlang des Schwarzwaldes erreichten wir am frühen Abend Basel. Ein kurzer Spaziergang bei noch trübem Wetter durch die schön beleuchtete Innenstadt zum Rhein beschloss schon den ersten Tag.

Am nächsten Vormittag unternahmen wir eine geführte Tour durch Basel. Erst gingen wir zum Münster mit den schönen Kreuzgängen, hier liegt Erasmus von Rotterdam begraben. Von den Münsterterassen aus hat man einen weitläufigen Ausblick über die Stadt und den Rhein. Blickfang ist das Rathaus mit seiner roten Fassade, einem herrlich gestaltetem Innenhof und dem Turm. An den Zinnen des Vorderhauses sind die Wappen der 12 Kantone angebracht. Darüber hinaus gab es hier noch viel Schönes zu entdecken, wie z.B. der Tinguely - Brunnen mit mechanischen Spielereien. Wirtschaftlich bestimmt v.a. die Pharmaindustrie mit enormen Hochhäusern das Wohlergehen der Menschen hier.

Basel gilt mit zig Museen und einer großen Kunstsammlung als Kulturhauptstadt der Schweiz und hat die älteste Uni des Landes, 1460 gegründet. Die großen Namen, die dort lehrten, lesen sich wie Who is Who der Wissenschaft: Erasmus von Rotterdam, Paracelsus, Bernoulli, Euler, Nietzsche, Jaspers etc. Gegen Mittag machten wir uns auf Richtung Genfer See, vorbei an Bern und Fribourg. Ein Spaziergang im Kurort Montreux hatte schon Mittelmeer-Flair. Die Promenade am Ufer des Genfer See's machte schon was her: Freddie Mercury, der hier seine letzten Titel aufnahm und viel phantasievolle Gartenkunst 🙂. Mondäne Hotel- und Wohnbauten, sowie das Casino stehen hier. Letzteres soll übrigens nach einem Brand Deep Purple zum Hit Smoke on the Water inspiriert haben.

Zermatt - Glacierexpress

Danach führte uns der Weg vorbei an Martigny ins Rhônetal. Die französischen und Walliser Alpen begrüßten uns mit dem Alpenglühen im Abendrot und wir beschlossen den Tag in Brig/Naters. Zermatt am Matterhorn ist autofrei, deswegen brachte uns der Bus am nächsten Tag durch das Mattertal nach Täsch und von das aus fuhr der Zug nach Zermatt. Schon vom Ort aus ist der 4.478m hohe Berg der Berge zu sehen, besser jedoch vom Gornergrat. So ging's denn mit der Zahnradbahn 1500 m aufwärts auf das 3.089m hohe Plateau. Wir verbrachten da einige Stunden bei wunderbarem Wetter mit einen gigantischem Panorama auf mehr als 20 Viertausender, darunter natürlich das Matterhorn.

Auf Zermatter Gebiet liegt auch der höchste Berg der Schweiz, die Dufourspitze mit 4634 m ü.M. Am Berghotel mit den Kuppeln der Observatorien vorbei, spazieren wir hoch zur Plattform auf 3130 m ü.M. Der Blick auf den majestätischen Berg, herrliche Lichtreflexionen und Schattenspiele an den weißen Bergenkämmen bescherten uns einen wunderbaren Tag in der Bergen. Wieder im Tal, spazierten wir durch Zermatt. Elektrokarren fahren durch die Straßen und viele Touristen spazierten die Bahnhofstraße hoch. Wir mit, vorbei an Nobel-Hotels und dem Murmeltierbrunnen. Leider war für das Matterhorn Museum keine Zeit mehr, neben vielem Wissenswerten rund um Berg und Bergführer, liegt hier das gerissene Seil der viel diskutierten Matterhorn-Erstbesteigung von 1865.

Den Silvesterabend gaben wir uns einem 5-Gänge Menü im Glacier-Express hin, eher nachteilig war, dass wir während der Fahrt im Dunkeln nichts von der genialen Landschaft sahen, die der Zug durchfuhr. Versöhnlich dafür, dass wir den Jahreswechsel beim Feuerwerk in Zermatt verbrachten.

Info
Indem Sie unsere Website nutzen, stimmen Sie unseren Cookie-Richtlinien zu.