Iceland

Iceland

Keflavik - Reykjavik

We took the shuttle from the airport to the northernmost capital of the world: Reykjavik. After checking into our hotel, we set off on a walk through the already evening city. We had also planned to walk around the city the next day, but we wanted to see the beautiful 75 m high Hallgrímskirkja in the evening, beautifully illuminated. In the foreground of the church is a statue of Leif Eriksson, who discovered North America in the year 1000. Afterwards we strolled through the narrow streets of the old town with countless colorfully lit bars and restaurants and a nightlife worthy of a capital 🙂.

In the morning, we made our way to the old harbor and the Harpa, Concert and Conference Center, an impressive glass building. The honeycomb-like glass elements react to daylight and weather with a play of changing colors. It was too dull for that today, but on the last day should be fine. We walked along the beautiful promenade, cairns everywhere, and here and there something artistic et al. the Sun ride, a boat made of stainless steel. That's probably why the promenade is called Sculpture & Shore Walk. In the background the modern skyline of the city. Away from the promenade we passed the sculpture of Ingólfur Arnarson. According to prevailing opinion he and his men were the first settlers of Iceland around the year 870 and named the place Reykjavik.

Museums were here for everything, so we passed next to an Icelandic punk museum also a penis museum. Yesterday the Hallgrímskirkja was closed in the evening, today we could see it from the inside. It is the largest church building in Iceland, an evangelical Lutheran parish church and looks inside in contrast to us known churches very bright and tidy, in the sense of minimalist. Few decorative elements, inside all white with gothic cross vault. Outside, the architecture leans on a waterfall framed by basalt columns.

Through the quarter of the gods, all streets here were named after Nordic deities, we ended up at the city lake. Quite particularly successful and funny I found there the Monument to the Unknown Bureaucrat 🙂. At some point we found ourselves again at the old port and looked at us still the Harpa from the inside. A very young and creative city, was our first impression.

Info
By using our website, you agree to our cookie policy.

Island

Island

Keflavik - Reykjavik

Mit dem Shuttle ging es vom Airport in die nördlichste Hauptstadt der Welt: Reykjavik. Nach dem Beziehen unseres Hotels machten wir uns auf die Socken durch die schon abendliche Stadt. Wir hatten auch den nächsten Tag noch Stadtrundgang geplant, aber wir wollten die schöne 75 m hohe Hallgrímskirkja am Abend sehen, schön beleuchtet. Im Vordergrund der Kirche befindet sich eine Statue von Leif Eriksson, welcher Nordamerika im Jahre 1000 entdeckte. Danach bummelten wir noch durch die engen Straßen der Altstadt mit unzähligen bunt beleuchteten Bar's und Restaurants und einem Nachtleben wie es einer Haupsstadt würdig ist 🙂.

Am Morgen machten wir uns auf den Weg zum alten Hafen und zum Konzert- und Konferenzzentrum Harpa, einem beeindruckendem Glasbebäude. Die wabenartigen Glaselemente reagieren mit einem Spiel aus wechselnden Farben auf Tageslicht und Wetter. Dafür war es heute zu trüb, aber am letzten Tag passte es. Wir liefen die schöne Promenade entlang, Steinmännchen überall und hier und da was Künstlerisches u.a. die Sonnenfahrt, ein Boot aus Edelstahl. Darum heißt die Promenade wahrscheinlich Sculpture & Shore Walk. Im Hintergrund zeichnet die moderne Skyline der Stadt ab. Weg von der Promenade kamen wir an der Skulptur von Ingólfur Arnarson vorbei. Nach herrschender Meinung waren er und seine Mannen um das Jahr 870 die erste Siedler Islands und nannten den Ort Reykjavik.

Museen gab es hier für Alles, so passierten wir neben einem isländischen Punk-Museum auch ein Penis-Museum. Gestern hatte die Hallgrímskirkja am Abend zu, heute konnten wir sie mal von innen sehen. Sie ist das größte Kirchengebäude Islands, eine evangelisch-lutherische Pfarrkirche und sieht innen im Gegensatz zu uns bekannten Kirchen sehr hell und aufgeräumt aus, im Sinne von minimalistisch. Wenig Schmuckelemente, innen ganz weiß mit gotischem Kreuzgewölbe. Außen lehnt sich die Architektur an einen Wasserfall an, der von Basaltsäulen eingerahmt ist.

Durch das Viertel der Götter, alle Straßen hier wurden nach nordischen Gottheiten benannt, landeten wir am Stadtsee. Ganz besonders gelungen und lustig fand ich da das Monument to the Unknown Bureaucrat 🙂. Irgendwann fanden wir uns wieder am alten Hafen und schauten uns noch die Harpa von innen an. Eine sehr junge und kreative Stadt, war unser erster Eindruck.

Info
Indem Sie unsere Website nutzen, stimmen Sie unseren Cookie-Richtlinien zu.