Caminho português

Portugal

Arrival in Porto

We had only 12 days due to work, so we chose the route from Porto to Santiago. If one have more time, you can also start the Caminho Português in Lisbon (about (about 600 km). Another often walked variant is the Caminho Português da Costa (coastal path). In between there are a handful of variations (Espiritual, da Braga, etc.). By train we arrived at the airport Berlin Schönefeld. In the evening our Boeing 737 took off for Porto.

It was a clear evening, no clouds clouded the view during the flight. As we flew over Paris, you could even see the illuminated Eiffel Tower. The airport is 12 km outside Porto in Maia, we wanted to walk to Porto the next day. It was already almost midnight, so we took the Park Hotel Porto Aeroporto near the airport. But there was still a nightcap beer 🙂.

Maia - Porto

After breakfast, we first went through the suburbs of Porto, as with many big cities not so tingly to walk, but it went. The portuguese drive carefully and footpaths were present throughout. The weather meant well and we made fast progress. First pilgrims met us.

We ourselves were run in, had made the previous weekend only a proper test hike (mountain test Wehlen: 38 km, 1400 meters altitude). Porto itself has about the size of Chemnitz (about 240000 inhabitants) and is located on the Rio Douro, which flows not far from the city center into the Atlantic. Arrived in time, we explored the city, our youth hostel Porto Pousada Juventude opens only 18 o'clock. We had already received a city map as a gift at the airport. At the Cathedral (Sé do Porto) we got the first pilgrim stamp (Carimbo) and after enjoying the view from there over the city we went downhill to the river. There the life pulsates at the promenade, in cafes. I also let the sun shine on my belly, while Manu ran again to the cathedral and on the big bridge, the Ponte Dom Luis I.

The time until the hostel opening was then also passed quickly, we still had to walk a bit in the direction of the Douro estuary. Arrived, we checked in and went to eat in a restaurant across the street. A beautiful rainbow let our 1st day end.

Info
By using our website, you agree to our cookie policy.

Caminho português

Portugal

Anreise Porto

Wir hatten berufstechnisch nur 12 Tage, deswegen wählten wir die Strecke von Porto nach Santiago. Wer länger Zeit hat, kann den Caminho Português auch in Lissabon beginnen (ca. 600 km). Eine weitere oft gegangene Variante ist noch der Caminho Português da Costa (Küstenweg). Dazwischen gibt es noch eine Handvoll Variationen (Espiritual, da Braga, etc.). Mit der Bahn gelangten wir zum Flughafen Berlin Schönefeld. Am Abend startete unsere Boeing 737 nach Porto.

Es war ein klarer Abend, keine Wolke trübte die Sicht während des Fluges. Während wir Paris überflogen, konnte man sogar den beleuchteten Eiffelturm erkennen. Der Flughafen liegt 12 km außerhalb Portos in Maia, wir wollten am nächsten Tag nach Porto laufen. Es war schon fast Mitternacht, deswegen nahmen wir das Park Hotel Porto Aeroporto in Flughafennähe. Ein Absacker-Bier gab's aber trotzdem noch 🙂.

Maia - Porto

Nach dem Frühstück ging es zunächst durch die Vororte Portos, wie bei vielen Großstädten nicht ganz so prickelnd zu laufen, aber es ging. Die Portugiesen fahren vorsichtig und Fußwege waren durchgängig vorhanden. Das Wetter meinte es gut und wir kamen schnell voran. Erste Pilger begegneten uns.

Wir selbst waren eingelaufen, hatten am vorangegangenem Wochenende erst eine ordentliche Probewanderung gemacht (Bergtest Wehlen: 38 km, 1400 Höhenmeter). Porto selbst hat derzeit etwa die Größe von Chemnitz (etwa 240000 Einwohner) und liegt am Rio Douro, der nicht weit von der Innenstadt in den Atlantik mündet. Zeitig angekommen, erkundeten wir die City, unsere Jugendherberge Porto Pousada Juventude macht erst 18 Uhr auf. Eine Stadtkarte hatten wir am Flughafen schon geschenkt bekommen. An der Kathedrale (Sé do Porto) holten wir uns den ersten Pilgerstempel (Carimbo) und nach dem Genießen der Aussicht von dort über die Stadt ging es bergab an den Fluß. Dort pulsiert das Leben an der Promenade, in Cafe's. Ich ließ mir dort auch die Sonne auf den Bauch scheinen, während Manu nochmal zur Kathedrale und auf die große Brücke, den Ponte Dom Luis I, lief.

Die Zeit bis zur Herbergsöffnung war dann auch schnell vergangen, wir mussten noch ein Stück in Richtung der Douro-Mündung laufen. Angekommen, checkten wir ein und gingen in ein Restaurant gegenüber essen. Ein wunderschöner Regenbogen ließ unseren 1. Tag ausklingen.

Info
Indem Sie unsere Website nutzen, stimmen Sie unseren Cookie-Richtlinien zu.